Emergency Number Professional

  Certification is a tool of a professional association to establish the benchmarks of performance that will signify a broad-based competence in the professional field. By successfully completing this certification program, you will:

  • demonstrate a mastery of the comprehensive knowledge base required for emergency number program management.
  • help to raise industry standards and increase the respect and prestige of those involved in 9-1-1.
  • confirm your commitment to the 9-1-1 profession by showing yourself to be a leader in public safety and pledging yourself to stay aware of current issues and developments in the field.

GOALS OF CERTIFICATION The NENA Executive Board first formed a Certification Committee in 1992 to explore the development of a certification program for individuals involved in emergency number program management. After a thorough review of the certification process, the Executive Board approved the Committee’s recommendation to go forward with the establishment of an Emergency Number Professional Certification Program. This recommendation included several goals:

  • To establish the comprehensive body of knowledge for Emergency Number Professionals.
  • To promote a standard of competence for Emergency Number Professionals that will be recognized and accepted by the 9-1-1 profession, government agencies, the business community, and the general public.
  • To ensure an awareness of current issues and developments in the 9-1-1 profession.
  • To provide formal recognition of individuals for professional achievement.
  • To encourage professional growth and enhance the self-esteem of Emergency Number Professionals.

Certification will be granted to those individuals who meet the eligibility requirements for admission to the examinations outlined in this handbook and who successfully pass the examination.

ARE YOU CERTIFIABLE? – The following eligibility criteria have been established for determining if an individual is qualified to sit for the NENA Certification Exam.

EXPERIENCE CRITERIA – In order to sit for the ENP Certification Exam, a candidate must meet the following experience criteria:

A. Three years experience in a management or supervisory role in Emergency Communications Management


B. Three years experience with a commercial provider of Emergency Communications Management products and services


C. Three years experience in Emergency Communications Service as a Sworn Personnel holding a management, supervisory, or professional support role.

POINT ACCUMULATION – Having satisfied the three-year minimum experience criterion, each candidate must accumulate a total of 10 points as follows:

    Each additional year of experience will count for 2 points, with a maximum of 10 points being granted.
    College degrees will earn points as noted below:
    Associate Degree 2 points
    Bachelor Degree 4 points
    Graduate Degree 6 points
    NENA educational courses completed will earn 1 point each with a maximum of 4 points being granted.
    Holding an office in NENA at the state or national level will earn 1 point, with a maximum of 1 point being granted.
    Other related professional certifications (e.g. CEM) will earn 1 point, with a maximum of 1 point being granted.