Congressional NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus

Congressional NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus

The Congressional E9-1-1 Caucus, lead by Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Senator Richard Burr (R-NC), Representative Anna Eshoo (D-CA)  and Representative John Shimkus (R-IL), was formed in 2003 to educate lawmakers, constituents and communities about the importance of citizen-activated emergency response systems. 

The name was changed to the NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus in 2011 for the 112th Congress.

Goals of the NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus

The Congressional NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus seeks to improve 9-1-1 and emergency response systems in the United States and promote governmental policies that will ensure:

  • Continued reliability of 9-1-1 as the universal emergency number over legacy and future communications services and applications;
  • A coordinated transition to broadband-enabled, IP-based Next Generation 9-1-1(?) and emergency communications systems;
  • 9-1-1 is recognized as an integral component of our nation’s homeland security;
  • Aggressive and effective oversight of federal agencies responsible for 9-1-1 and emergency communications.   
  • Effective education of the public on the appropriate use of 9-1-1;
  • Proper funding for 9-1-1 systems, networks, operations, and training;
  • Effective and direct access to emergency response systems for persons with disabilities; and
  • Improved coordination and information sharing across jurisdictional boundaries and among emergency response personnel and organizations at all levels of government.

Visit the NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus website.

NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus Co-Chairs

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)


Rep. John Shimkus(R-IL) Rep. Anna Eshoo(D-CA)

NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus Members

Rep. Rick Berg (R-ND)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
Rep. Jo Bonner (R-AL)
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU) 
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL) 
Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX)
Rep. Howard Coble (R-NC)
Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Rep. John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-TN)
Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY) 
Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Gene Green (D-TX)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Rep. Wally Herger (R-CA)
Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL)
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Rep. Timothy V. Johnson (R-IL)
Rep. Walter Jones (R-NC)
Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)
Rep. John B. Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)
Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Patrick HcHenry (R-NC)
Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-NC)
Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC)
Rep. George Miller (D-CA)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC)
Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
Rep. David Price (D-NC)
Rep. Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
Rep. Aaron Shock (R-IL)
Rep. Heath Shuler (D-NC)
Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
Rep. Patrick J.Tiberi (R-OH)

Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC)
Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND)
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA)