NENA Awards

The William E. Stanton Award Recipients

1999 – William E. Stanton
2000 –
George Heinrichs
2001 –
Billy Ragsdale
2002 – Barb Thornburg

The William E. Stanton Award is bestowed upon an individual who not only excelled in his or her everyday job but who has gone above and beyond to further the goals of the National Emergency Number Association (NENA).  The Award, which debuted in 1999 at the NENA Annual Conference, is named for the first recipient and long-time executive director of NENA.  The William E. Stanton Award is a Lifetime Achievement award and replaces the previous NENA 9-1-1 Service Awards. 

Nomination Criteria


Must be an active or commercial NENA member in good standing


Must be nominated by a NENA member in good standing.


Must have demonstrated lifetime or career-length dedication and integrity with respect to NENA.


Must have provided vision, value and leadership for NENA and public safety through his or her commitment and work ethics.


Have achieved exceptional and sustained results with respect to public safety and 9-1-1.


Nominator must be able to document evidence of the individual’s actions and accomplishments in creating and sustaining the positive image of NENA and 9-1-1.

Award Criteria

The NENA Executive Board will determine the recipient of the William E. Stanton Award as nominated by the NENA membership and as presented by the NENA Nominating Committee.  The Stanton Award will be presented if an appropriate nomination is made.  If an appropriate nomination is not made, no award will be given.

Stanton Award Nomination Form